Aviation Security Committee

ACI E Aviation Security Committee clearThe Aviation Security Committee is responsible for the development and implementation of ACI EUROPE security policy positions on issues such as landside and perimeter security, insider threats, development and deployment of security screening solutions, capacity building in 3rd countries and for emerging threats. Committee members work with international and national regulators (EC, EU Member States, TSA, CATSA, …), aviation industry groups, and international policy makers to develop statutory and regulatory proposals governing security at airports.

The Committee also helps guide European Commission aviation security research programs and provides information and guidance for airport operators. It is represented in the Stakeholder’s Advisory Group on Aviation Security (SAGAS) meetings, which are chaired by the European Commission, as well as the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO), the European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC), and other industry and government-sponsored organisations with a focus on aviation security.




Committee Secretary
Sébastien Colmant, ACI EUROPE
+32 486 73 75 14

2021 Aviation Security Committee Work Plan


Committee Vision
ACI EUROPE’s ambition is to be the reference point and leader in providing security at airports, while continuously looking to deliver the best airport experience to all its’ users

Mission Statement
Lead and serve airports in ensuring the best possible aviation security services at European airports

Work Undertaken
The major topics discussed at recent Committee meetings include: EDS for Cabin Baggage, lane automation, landside and perimeter security, insider threats, emerging threats, developments on Liquids, Aerosols, and Gels (LAGs), EU legislative updates; capacity building, operational testing of security equipment, EASA basic regulation (security aspects), , and EDS Std 3 implementation and joint work on drones with the Technical, Operations Safety Committee..

2021 Committee Leadership

Committee Chair: Johan Merten (Budapest)
Committee Vice Chair: Ian Gregory (Edinburgh)
Immediate Past Chair: José Luis Nieto Garrido (AENA)


Committee Working Groups:


Strategy Working Group

  • Define a clear, long term and consistent strategy of the ACI EUROPE AVSEC Committee and for its representatives. The working group meets 4 times per year.


Technology Panel

  • Feed the Committee with facts as a basis to make decisions from a technological point of view. The panel produces catalogues of equipment with brief descriptions for use by all airport members (only). Members also meet with manufacturers and visit production facilities. The panel meets 3-4 times per year in different locations around Europe.


Benchmarking Working Group

  • Administer and coordinate the Aviation Security Benchmarking Database with the collection of data and the annual validation of data inputs. The group meets 1-2 per year.


ACBS (incorporating LAGs) Joint Operational Working Group

  • A working group made up of airports, security manufacturers, airline associations and appropriate transport authorities. The focus is on developing practical operational outputs, sharing best practices in the field of security equipment, and promoting guidelines for screening methods. Topics include APIDS, EDS CB, Lane automation, LAGs, operational implications of the deployment of ACBS at checkpoints, operational trials of security equipment, tray specifications, and ECAC laboratory testing developments. ACI EUROPE hosts a two-day meeting 2-3 per year.

Operational Trials Working Group

  • The working group plans to set up a formal system of operational testing, trials and evaluation centers (and capabilities) in the EU for testing/trialing of aviation security equipment, and (subsequently) the evaluation of security systems in the operational environment as well as recommendations for improvements. The Working Group aims to develop ACI EUROPE supported/approved standards for those centers and equipment.


Landside Security Operational Working Group

  • The aim of the working group is to share information on airport landside security issues; explore sources of information to build a repository of best practices on airport landside security; develop a generic organization and coordination model for airport landside security; and develop a best practice vulnerability assessment tool kit.


Cybersecurity Task Force

The Cybersecurity Task Force is a cross functional group that is responsible for the development and implementation of ACI EUROPE cybersecurity policy position on issues such as the rulemaking by European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), including the technical and strategic level of the European Strategic Coordination Platform (ESCP). 

The Cybersecurity Task Force was established in September 2017 with a primary goal to discuss and understand the requirements for those airports designated by national authorities as “Operators of Essential Services” under the terms of the EU Network Information Security (NIS) Directive.  The definition criteria for Operators of Essential Services may vary from one EU Member State to another; ACI EUROPE is working to harmonize requirements across EU Member States.

The European Commission (EC) have tasked the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) with preparing aviation specific cybersecurity regulations. EASA has established a European Strategic Coordination Platform (ESCP) that involves all the key aviation actors from EU authorities and industry, including ACI EUROPE. 

The task force provides information and guidance for airport operators in the development of airport cyber security management programs.  It is represented in the EASA European Strategic Coordination Platform (ESCP) and in the Technical Advisory Committees working parties.

The aim of the task force is to provide an interface and expertise to:

  • The EASA activities (ESCP & rulemaking, European Centre for Cybersecurity in Aviation (ECCSA project));
  • The European Commission (incl. European Network Information Security Agency (ENISA);
  • The ECAC Study Group on Cybersecurity;
  • EUROCAE (through the European Cyber security for aviation Standards Coordination Group (ECSCG); and
  • Eurocontrol (through CYBERG)

Also, the task force develops airports cybersecurity best practices (systems & mapping of responsibilities; prioritization/criticality, risk assessments, mitigation measures), and provides a European perspective to the ACI WORLD activities.

Cybersecurity Task Force

Chair: Eric Vautier (ADP)
Vice Chair: Joao M. Annes (ANA)